Match / Event


Return to A & T

Sat 5th Oct British Youth & Junior League National Round 4 Birmingham

Astley & Tyldesley riders enjoyed much success in the final national round of the British Youth & Junior League and Little League series at Birmingham on Saturday. Many congratulations to two more British Grand Prix series winners - Frank White and Emily Burgess.

A&T took 2nd place in the team competition of the BYJL, their best position of the season. This ensured that A&T finished 3rd in the final league table, behind the winners Poole and one point behind runners-up Kesgrave.

BYJL National Round 4 result:

Poole 92 Astley & Tyldesley 52 Coventry 50 Kesgrave 42 Leicester 31 Ipswich 26 Sheffield 7 Newport 0.

Final BYJL standings:

Poole 32 (412), Kesgrave 26 (261), Astley & Tyldesley 25 (210), Coventry 19 (185), Leicester 17 (158), Ipswich 9.5 (84), Sheffield 6.5 (32), Newport 4 (45).

Duncan Whalley scored 7 points in the u-12 match and finished 3rd in the Grand Prix 'C' Final. In the u-14s event, John White raced to a 16 points maximum in the qualifiers, before finishing 3rd off a grid 4 in the 'A' Final. This put him on 73 Grand Prix points, to finish joint 2nd with Kesgrave's Noah Woodhouse. Charlie Burgess scored 9 and finished 3rd in the 'B' Final. In the Girls match, Emily Burgess scored 13 in the qualifiers and finished 4th in the 'A' Final. This was sufficient for her to win the overall Girls Grand Prix series, on 81 points. Chloe Warn scored 7 in the qualifying heats and took 2nd place in the 'C' Final.

BYJL Grand Prix Series winners:

U-12: Kenzie Bennett (Poole) 90
U-14: Ellis Richmond (Wednesfield) 81
U-18: Fraser Garnett (Poole) 95
Girls: Emily Burgess (Astley & Tyldesley) 81.

Earlier in the day, A&T's Frank White completed his amazing run by winning every u-8 race at national level this season! This gave him the u-8 Liitle League Grand Prix series title, to accompany the one-off individual final he won in August. Freddie Warn scored 7 in the qualifying heats and won the 'C' Final. In the u-10s match, Aiden Green scored 11 points and finished 2nd in the 'C' Final.

Little League Grand Prix Series winners:

U-8: Frank White (Astley & Tyldesley) 100
U-10: Harvey Shumake (Kesgrave) 88.
Return to A & T Fixtures  Home Page