Match / Event


Return to A & T

Sun 11th August 2019 ICSF World Cycle Speedway Championships Leszno

Astley & Tyldesley's Emily Burgess is the new World u-16 Girls Champion! Emily took the title with a flawless 16 points maximum score at Leszno this morning.

Poole's Maddie Saunders was 2nd on 15, with Zoledowo's Zuzanna Klett 3rd on 14.

Many congratulations to Emily from everyone at Astley & Tyldesley Cycling Club. Our first ever World Champion

Astley & Tyldesley's Emily Burgess turned in a terrific performance to take 2nd place in the Women's World Individual Final at Leszno this afternoon.

The title was decided in a dramatic last race. Sheffield's Laura Watson lined up off gate 1, on 10 points, against three unbeaten riders on 12 each. Emily Burgess was off gate 2, Poole's Macie Schmidt on 3 and Australia's Lucy Millikin on 4. The race was re-run after a first bend clash. In the re-run, Millikin again pulled off a drop pass to take the lead, with Burgess at the back. A terrific ride by Emily saw her pass Laura and then Macie, to take second place, but Lucy held on to take the World title, with Emily second and Macie third.

We've already reported on Emily Burgess' amazing exploits in Sunday's World Individual Finals at Leszno, Poland. We were represented in two other finals as

In the Grand Veterans Final for o-50 riders, Steve Harris scored 14 points, from his four races, before narrowly missing out on even a place. Steve just lost out to Norwich's Paddy Wenn, in a very close finish in heat 7. A win there would have meant a run-off between those two for the title, but Wenn went on to complete a 16 points maximum, for his first ever World title. It was a similar story in the 2nd place run-off, which was won by Leicester's Norman Venson, as Steve lost out to Australian Paul White by the closest of margins, to finish 4th overall. Lee Phillips finished in 6th place, with 11 points, after generously allowing Wenn to complete his maximum in the last race, when the title was already decided.

In the Veterans Final for o-40 riders, Steve Harris finished in 5th place, after scoring 15 points. Polish rider Dominik Rycharski took the title with a 20 points maximum score. Former A&T rider Tomasz Szwajorek totalled 9.

A breathtaking Open Individual Final, under the impressive Leszno floodlights, provided a fitting climax to a great World Championship tournament, over nearly three weeks. Poole's Ben Mould became the first ever Welshman to win the World Open Individual title, with an 18 points tally. Polish duo Marcin Szymanski and Dawid Bas completed the podium places, after a run-off. A&T's Tomek Wlodarczyk scored 11 points, with Remi Burchardt finishing on 7, the same as former A&T rider, Piotr Jamroszczyk.

The u-16 Boys Final was won by Poland's Radoslaw Morawiak, whilst compatriot Marcel Krzykowski won the Junior Final. This meant that all five nations represented in this year's Championships supplied at least one World Individual Champion.

Mike Hack was the referee for the Junior Final and Przemek Binkowski was the Open Final referee.

Hats off to all the Polish organisers and volunteers, as all six clubs put on a great show to provide an excellent 2019 World Championship tournament.
Return to A & T Fixtures  Home Page