British Indoor Championships - Report 2

(2002 Web-site Archive)

The Indoor Cycle Speedway Championships were held at Cheslyn Hay, Staffordshire over the weekend of 9th -10th November. In the Open Final Steve Harris (Horspath) regained the title he previously won in 2000, after suffering something of a disaster in last year's competition. Frank Finnigan (Stoke) retained his veteran's title, while both the Under 16 and Under 19 titles saw a repeat of the outdoor tournaments with a further double victory for Darren Slater (Great Blakenham).

Stoke's Joe Twiss took maximum points to win the Under-13 Championship. It was sweet revenge for Twiss, who was edged out into second place in a run-off in the corresponding outdoor Championship on his home track.

U13s Final 1st Joe Twiss 20pts, 2nd Tom Hibberd 19pts, 3rd Ashley Birks 16pts, 4th Scott Doherty 16pts after run off

Jamie Ball 15pts, Mike Hewitson 14pts, Chris Timms 13pts

Rebecca Haslop 12pts, Lee Richardson 12pts, Carl Jarvis 11pts, Luke Hughes 11pts, Andy Turnbull 9pts, Matt Brough 8pts, Ashley Skeldon 8pts, Russell Kenyon 7pts, Thomas Pike 7pts.

U16s Final 1st Darren Slater 20pts, 2nd Ben Scranage 19pts, 3rd Lewis Osbourne 18pts, Ryan Taylor 16, Jack Hibberd 15, Daniel Pike 15, Chris Eaton 12, Andy Mittell 12, Luke Hodgkinson 11, Johnathan Birks 11, Lee Ridgewell 10, Will Page 10, Chris Osbourne 8, Paul Bird 8, Tom Hibberd 8, Lee Pike 7.

U19s Final 1st Darren Slater 20pts, 2nd Adam Peck 17pts, 3rd Mark Boaler 17pts after run off, Wayne Hutt 16, Chris Jewkes 15, Ben Scranage 12, Daniel Pike 12, Craig Newsome 12, Richard Williamson 12, Damien Hack 10, Paul Bird 10, Andy Mittell 10, Simon Turnbull 9, Lewis Osbourne 9, Lee Ridgewell 7, Stuart Pyke 6.

Veterans Final 1st Frank Finnigan 15pts, 2nd John Murphy 14, 3rd Mick Pedley 14, 4th Paul Timms 14, after run off, Peter Mittell 12, Pete Rhodes 11, Peter Williamson 11.

Open Final 1st Steve Harris 19pts, 2nd Craig Marchant 19pts, after run off, 3rd Lee Aris 17pts, Adam Peck 16, Darren Slater 15, Terry Norman 14, Mark Boaler 13, Chris Jewkes 12, Craig Nash 11, Dave Soloman 9, Frank Finnigan 9, Neil Howarth 9, Chris Finnigan 8, Craig Newsome 8, John Murphy 7, Ben Scranage 7.

Return to Home Page           Return to Archive 2002 Index