Northern Individual Cycle Speedway Championships - Results

Astley & Tyldesley had a trio of riders competing in the Northern Individual Cycle Speedway Championships at Hull on Sunday. Rain throughout the day made conditions very wet and slippery, which added to the excitement for the spectators, if not always appreciated by the competitors!

A & T's European Champion Damian Zareba lost first time out to teammate Remi Burchardt, but raced unbeaten after that, to take the title with a 19 points score. He made light of the conditions with some fast starting, and when he didn't make the start off a muddy grid 4 in heat 16, he swept past his two Hull opponents with the true class of a European Champion. Defending champion, Steve Ward of Tameside, lost only to Zareba and Burchardt, to finish runner-up overall, with Bury's veteran Paul Dyson taking 3rd place. Burchardt won three races, but fell whilst leading after pulling off a brilliant pass on Dyson in heat 12, and was excluded in heat 15.

A & T's European Junior Champion Remi Burchardt showed his class to win the U-19 category with a maximum score. Bury's Ben Scranage beat Hull's Chris Cooke in a run-off for 2nd place.

In the Veterans category, Bury's Paul Dyson raced unbeaten, with A & T's Mike Hack taking runners-up slot ahead of Hull's Barry Ashton.

Seniors: 1st - Damian Zareba (A & T) 19; 2nd - Steve Ward (Tameside) 18; 3rd - Paul Dyson (Bury) 17.

Veterans: 1st - Paul Dyson (Bury) 16; 2nd - Mike Hack (A & T) 12; 3rd - Barry Ashton (Hull) 8.

U-19s: 1st - Remi Burchardt (A & T) 16; 2nd - Ben Scranage (Bury) 14; 3rd - Chris Cooke (Hull) 14.

U-16s: 1st - Mikey Hewitson (Scotia) 16; 2nd - Ashley Simpson (Bury) 15; 3rd - Will Collins (Bury) 14.

U-13s: 1st - Matt Beharrell (Hull) 16; 2nd - Leon Wilde (Sheffield) 14; 3rd - Ryan O'Shea (Bury) 14.

Return to Home Page         Archived News Index