Astley & Tyldesley's 25th Annual Presentation Event

Astley & Tyldesley Cycling Club staged their 25th annual cycle speedway presentation event on Sunday afternoon. 85 club members, family and friends filled the function room at the Astley & Tyldesley Miners' Welfare Club. As ever, there was an excellent buffet to enjoy, DVD footage of racing from the past season and numerous raffle prizes donated by club members, including an England football shirt signed by England u-17 captain Adam Phillips.

There was an impressive array of trophies, medals and certificates presented to the club's cycle speedway riders for their successes during the past season, which included winning the Northern K.O. Cup, Manchester League Division 2 and Northern League Division 3. The five special rider awards were presented by the Chairman of the Miners' Welfare Club, David Groves, to: Mark Grantham (Rory Blackwell Cup for the Best Newcomer); Lucy Grantham (North West Trophies Cup for Best Novice); Ciaran Collins (Most Improved Rider); Max Evans (J. Fisher & Sons Young Rider of the Year). The A&T club purchased a trophy in memory of Alan Farrell, one of the three volunteers who originally built the track, who passed away a year ago. Damian Zareba was delighted to receive the Alan Farrell Memorial Cup, for winning the A&T Rider of the Year award.

Astley & Tyldesley encourage and develop new officials and volunteers each year and this time, 23 volunteers received framed certificates from the club, in recognition for their much appreciated efforts during the past year. The Ron Hack Memorial Cup for the Volunteer of the Year was awarded to Len Priestley, the club's long serving web master and photographer.

It was a great way to round off a very successful year, which has seen the club's membership grow to over 100 members, celebrate its 25th anniversary season, win the Wigan Sports Club of the Year award for the second time in the last five years, have Janine Paine win both the Wigan and Gt. Manchester Sports Volunteer of the Year awards, as well as successfully setting up a Ladies road section and a Mixed off road section.

Photo above shows the club's Rider of the Year, Damian Zareba (right), receiving the Alan Farrell Memorial Cup from David Groves.

Return to Home Page                 Archive 2015 Index