Match / Event


Return to A & T

Sat 14th August BoB & GP, Midlands v North & Scotland v South East & Eastern v South & South Wales Birmingham
The Cycle Speedway Battle of Britain series made a welcome return at Birmingham today, after last being staged in 2019. A re-vamped format saw all four regional teams contesting a 24 heats match. With two current and former World Champions and four current and former British Champions on view, it was a top class field. In an exciting match, the outcome went to the very last race. The Midlands took a maximum 7-3 heat win in the penultimate race over the South East & Eastern team, to move onto 66 points. This left the South & South Wales team needing to repeat that feat over the North & Scotland team in the last race, to take the overall win. However, it was the North pairing of Reece Pollitt and Steve Harris who raced into the lead, which they held for two laps, before Harris picked up a harsh exclusion. Pollitt took the race win, so the South's five points score meant that they finished one point behind the Midlands team, in second place, on 65. The South East & Eastern team finished in third place on 57, with the North & Scotland team fourth on 50.

All four teams were competitive throughout the match, and the North & Scotland riders can feel well pleased with their efforts. Harry Radford took two race wins from outside start positions, with Reece Pollitt winning the last race.

Battle of Britain result:

Midlands 66 South & South Wales 65 South East & Eastern 57 North & Scotland 50

Midlands: Myke Grimes 15, Paul Heard 15, Chris Timms 13 (1), Ewan Hancox 10, Chris Jewkes 7 (1), Cameron Gill 6 (1), Jake Steel dnr.

South & South Wales: Ben Mould 15, Connor Tucker 14, Wil Bristowe 14, Zac Payne 8 (2), Will Jeffrey 8 (1), Fraser Garnett 6 (1).

South East & Eastern: Lewis Brinkhoff 11 (1), Noah Woodhouse 11, Ashley Hill 10 (1), Torsten Jolly 10 (1), Leon Mower 8, Tyler Brinkhoff 7.

North & Scotland: Reece Pollitt 11, Harry Radford 10, Adam Watson 8 (1), Kris Ramsden 8, Niall Morton 8, Steve Harris 5, Luke Morton dnr, Mark Radford dnr.

Referee - Mark Winwood.

The Battle of Britain match was followed by the opening round of the HSBC UK Elite Grand Prix series. Again, the outcome went to the final race, when Birmingham's Chris Timms lined up off gate 1 against Horspath's Ben Mould, off gate 3, both riders having dropped just one point. Timms made the start and held off a series of strong challenges from World Champion Mould, to take the race win and win the opening round, collecting 80 prize money in the process. This meant that a run off for second place was needed. Mould won the toss and surprisingly chose grid 4, to leave British Champion Paul Heard, of Birmingham, on grid 2. Heard made the start to take the lead. A powerful outside burst from Mould almost took him round Heard on the third lap, but he ran out of grip on the outside, leaving Heard to take the race win and second place on the day. Ipswich's Ashley Hill was fourth, whilst a run-off was needed to decide fifth place and the final prize money. Astley & Tyldesley's Reece Pollitt took the lead from grid two, but fell going into the 3rd bend on the second lap, leaving Ipswich's Lewis Brinkhoff to collect the race win and fifth place on the day.

HSBC UK Elite Grand Prix result:

Chris Timms (Birmingham) 19, Paul Heard (Birmingham) 18, Ben Mould (Horspath) 18, Ashley Hill (Ipswich) 16, Lewis Brinkhoff (Ipswich) 15, Reece Pollitt (Astley & Tyldesley) 15, Wil Bristowe (Poole) 13, Fraser Garnett (Poole) 13, Ellis Richmond (Wednesfield) 12, Steve Harris (Astley & Tyldesley) 11, Cameron Gill (Coventry) 11, Noah Woodhouse (Kesgrave) 10, Kris Ramsden (Bury) 9, Torsten Jolly (Kesgrave) 8, Marc Phipps (Birmingham) 5, Leon Mower (Gt. Blakenham) 3.

Referee - Bob Prince.

The next round is at Astley & Tyldesley on Saturday 16th October.


Return to A & T Fixtures  Home Page