Match / Event


Return to A & T

Mon 30th August British Individual Finals - Day 3 Horspath

Many congratulations go to Emily Burgess, on winning the British Women's Final at Horspath on Monday. She certainly had to work hard for her win, with an unfavourable draw, on a slippery surface on the small, tight Oxfordshire track. Emily started with three race wins, before being beaten by former champion, Lauren Hookway, in heat 13. Heat 19 proved to be the decider, as Emily lined up off grid 3 against Lizzie Rigley (2) and Maddie Saunders (4), who were also both on 15 points. Former champion, Rachel Lamming lined up off grid 1 for good measure. Emily just managed to gate round Lizzie and pulled away to take a commanding lead. The two riders behind her clashed on the third lap, with Rigley excluded for excessive force, as Saunders took a heavy fall. In the re-run, Emily made no mistake, gating cleanly ahead of her rivals and going on to take a comfortable race win and the overall title. So, after finishing 2nd and 3rd in her previous British Women's Final appearances, and with two age category wins, Emily moved up a level to take the open age Women's title, at the tender age of 17.

British Women’s Individual Championship:

Emily Burgess (Astley & Tyldesley) 19, Maddie Saunders (Poole) 18, Lauren Hookway (Exeter) 16, Lizzie Rigley (Leicester) 15, Rebekah Humphries (Birmingham) 15, Niamh Morton (Sheffield) 14, Laura Watson (Sheffield) 14, Rachel Lammin (Horspath) 13, Phoebe Hammond (Kesgrave) 13, Lucy Whitehead (Leicester) 11, Chloe Whitehead (Leicester) 11, Georgia Burt (Wednesfield) 10, Shannon Tucker (Exeter) 8, Megan Burt (Wednesfield) 8, Hannah Jones (Birmingham) 6, Aimee Porter (Kesgrave) 6

Referee: Andy Parfitt (West Midlands)

Reece Pollitt qualified for his third successive British Individual Final, but he was well out of luck in what was a fiercely contested match. Reece led heat 4 until a bizarre last few yards, when he slipped and fell on exiting the last bend. His momentum carried him over the finish line, but in second place, as home rider Mark Boaler crossed the line first, also whilst falling after colliding with Pollitt, as both riders neared the line. A disputed gate exclusion off his second grid 1 in heat 5, was followed by three last places, to finish a day, which had started promisingly, on 6 points. The heat 4 race win proved vital for Boaler, as he went on to finish on 16 points, level with 2018 champion Josh Brooke. Boaler won the toss for start positions in the 1st place run off and raced away to take his second British title win - his other win came at Gin Pit in 2010.

British Open Individual Championship Final:

Mark Boaler (Horspath) 16, Josh Brooke (Great Blakenham) 16 (after run-off), Lewis Brinkhoff (Ipswich) 14, Chris Timms (Birmingham) 14, Myke Grimes (Coventry) 14 (after run off), Andy Angell (Hull) 13, Ben Mould (Horspath) 13, Chris Jewkes (Wednesfield) 12, Will Jeffery (Horspath) 12, Paul Heard (Birmingham) 11, Ashley Hill (Ipswich) 11, Aaron Smith (Poole) 10, Mark Carmichael (Horspath) 10, Zac Payne (Horspath) 9, Ben Clarke (Ipswich) 9, Reece Pollitt (Astley & Tyldesley) 6

Referee: Bob Prince (West Midlands)

Charlie Burgess came through the Pre-Qualifying tournament to qualify for the u-16 Boys Final. In a very competitive match, with no shortage of incident and passing, Noah Woodhouse raced to a 20 points maximum score to take the title. His win over Harry Radford in heat 4 proved decisive, as Harry's dropped point off a grid 4 was to be his only defeat of the day. Charlie found points hard to come by against bigger opposition, but he has another year to go at this age category.

British Under 16 Boys Individual Championship:

Noah Woodhouse (Kesgrave) 20, Harry Radford (Bury) 19, Ellis Richmond (Wednesfield) 18, Kai Gowers (Ipswich) 15, Torsten Jolly (Kesgrave) 15, JJ Wildman (Exeter) 15, Sam Marsh (Newport) 14, Charlie Parr (Kesgrave) 14,Kenzie Bennett (Poole) 13, Josh Nottle (Poole) 10, Jack Reynolds (Coventry) 9, Mason Martin (Hethersett) 8, Leon Penketh (Southampton) 8, Feroze Langoo (Poole) 8, Edward Selwood (Exeter) 6, Charlie Burgess (Astley & Tyldesley) 5

Referee: Terry Ashford (Suffolk)
Return to A & T Fixtures  Home Page