Club sponsor Andy Dickinson and Kelly Thompson came onto the Committee, as Facilities Manager and Welfare Officer respectively, while Paul Graham took over as the new 1st team manager. Sadly, we lost our Track Curator, Alan Farrell, who passed away in November. DM Burgess Joinery and Thompson Fencing came on board as new club partners. The club generated a record income of £15k, but also incurred a record loss of more than £2k over the year. The club stock of bikes rose to 40, as our membership levels rose to a then record of 85.

At the end of the year, we started a new Ladies Road section, led by Denise Bailey, and the AGM agreed to change the club name from a Cycle Speedway Club to a Cycling Club.

Adam Phillips won the Wigan Sports Achiever of the Year award, for both his cycle speedway and football achievements.

The 1st team was strengthened by Joe Allen, Luke Jamson, Adam and Lee Phillips transferring back into the club. However, it was again a 7th placed finish, out of 8 teams, in the Northern League Division 1. We finished 4th out of 8 teams in Division 2. The Fours League team consisted mainly of junior riders, with a 4th place finish, out of 6 teams. The junior teams, led by Will Evans, excelled. 2nd place finishes in the u-10 British Club Final and the North section of the BYJL, to qualify for the national series for the third successive year, and the Northern Junior League. Wins were recorded in the Northern League Division 3 and the Manchester League Division 2. Overall, the club finished 12th out of 16 clubs in the British Club Championship. Individually, John White won the u-8 British Grand Prix series. Reece Pollitt was again the club’s top scorer, with 351 points, and also topped the race averages, on 2.95.

1st team photo, back row, l-r: Reece Pollitt, Lee Phillips, Adam Phillips, George Hughes, Paul Graham, Mark Graham, Joe Allen. Kneeling, l-r: Ciaran Collins, Danny Hughes.